The Luberon Regional Natural Park

logo Parc naturel régional du Luberon

The Luberon Regional Natural Park, a region…

Here, where the confluence of climatic conditions from the Alps and the Mediterranean, extend over 185 000 hectares, from Cavaillon (in the Vaucluse “départment” of France) to Lurs (in the Alpes de Haute-Provence “department” of France) and on either side of the Luberon mountain (1 125 m high at Mourre Nègre).  Here, is a region of exceptionally diverse fauna and flora, of a wealth of architectural heritage and of an environmental landscape rich beyond compare.

The Luberon Natural Park is also a region alive with a population of 174 000 inhabitants, residing in 77 communities.

In December 1997, The Luberon was officially recognized by UNESCO (the United Nations Education, Science and Culture Organisation) as a world biosphere reserve.

The Park

Region : Provence-Alpes-Côte-d’Azur.

Departments : Vaucluse and Alpes de Haute-Provence.

No of Communities : 77.

Area :

  • 185 000 hectares in 2015.

Population :

  • 174 000 inhabitants in 2015.

Principle Towns :

  • Apt (Vaucluse) : 12 000 inhabitants.
  • Cavaillon (Vaucluse) : 25 000 inhabitants.
  • Pertuis (Vaucluse) : 19 000 inhabitants.
  • Manosque (Alpes de Haute-Provence) : 22 000 inhabitants.
  • Forcalquier (Alpes de Haute-Provence) : 5 000 inhabitants.

Economic Activity : Agriculture (fruit, vegetables, wine, sheep farming, lavender), food production and processing (preserving, confectionary, packaging, transport), tourism.

Download the map of the Luberon Regional Natural Park.

More information on the website of the Luberon Regional Natural Park.


glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8